AudioRealism Forum Index AudioRealism

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Saving presets in Logic vs saving in ADM

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    AudioRealism Forum Index -> Technical Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ekwipt



Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:06 am    Post subject: Saving presets in Logic vs saving in ADM Reply with quote

Hi Mike & forum users,

When saving patches via ADM I get 4 files for example:

test.adm
test.adp
test.pcf
test.pcm

But when I save setting as via ADM istrument window in Logic I only get one file:

test.aupreset

By saving via Logic and only getting one file do I retain all of the settings?

what are the reasons for saving the 4 files seperately Mike?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiorealism
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 3882

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Ekwipt,

Well the reason is that it was planned to be possible to open any of the files in the Patch open dialog. So if you wanted to open only the automation data you would type *.pcf for the file dialog filter, then select and open that file and it would load the automation only, and not the rest of the patch.

But in the end this feature was cut (it might still work, but its not really a supported feature, and we don't mention it in the manual), instead we were planning on making some switches in the open dialog to select subpatches. This is planned for a future update.

So the current extensions are:

.adm - The pattern data itself
.adp - The program (parameter) settings
.pcf - The PCF/Automation data
.pcm - References to the samples that this patch uses

As you mention saving from the host embeds all this data into a binary chunk. The binary chunks are compatible between PC and Mac versions so you could transfer a live project from PC to Mac and retain your patches, providing you use the VST version.

Hope this answers your question..

--Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ekwipt



Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 2:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, thanks Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    AudioRealism Forum Index -> Technical Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group