AudioRealism Forum Index AudioRealism

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

(64bit) how to install it ??? (crashes...)

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    AudioRealism Forum Index -> Technical Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chr1smk2



Joined: 27 Jan 2015
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 7:27 pm    Post subject: (64bit) how to install it ??? (crashes...) Reply with quote

hello !

got cubase 7.5 64 bit. win 8.1.

by default it installs all to :

c:program files x86/....

while my vstplugins is in (64 bit) :

c:program files/...

so the plugin does not show in the 64 bit host.

.

tried to copy abl2_64.dll to my 64 vst folder but cubase crashes on exit/closing project.

.

can't figure how to install it well without crashes...

normally at setup, u choose the 32 bit folder, and u choose the 64 bit one.

need help for stable setup please.

btw, love it, pure 303 sound !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr1smk2



Joined: 27 Jan 2015
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dunno why (edit: BUT) using the VST3 file "ABL2_32.dll" in a 64 host makes it Rolling Eyes

Last edited by chr1smk2 on Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:35 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wibwub



Joined: 13 Jul 2009
Posts: 258

PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 8:12 pm    Post subject: Re: (64bit) how to install it ??? (crashes...) Reply with quote

chr1smk2 wrote:
hello !

got cubase 7.5 64 bit. win 8.1.

by default it installs all to :

c:program files x86/....

while my vstplugins is in (64 bit) :

c:program files/...

so the plugin does not show in the 64 bit host.

.

tried to copy abl2_64.dll to my 64 vst folder but cubase crashes on exit/closing project.

.

can't figure how to install it well without crashes...

normally at setup, u choose the 32 bit folder, and u choose the 64 bit one.

need help for stable setup please.

btw, love it, pure 303 sound !!!


Forgive me if I have misunderstood, but have you set Cubase to scan "c:program files x86/...." under Devices - Plug-in Information - VST 2.x Plug-in Paths?
_________________
Samsung Laptop, Intel i5 @ 2.50 GHZ, 8 GB RAM
Windows 7 64 bit
Cakewalk by Bandlab 64 bit
Sonar Platinum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr1smk2



Joined: 27 Jan 2015
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:15 pm    Post subject: Re: (64bit) how to install it ??? (crashes...) Reply with quote

wibwub wrote:
chr1smk2 wrote:
hello !

got cubase 7.5 64 bit. win 8.1.

by default it installs all to :

c:program files x86/....

while my vstplugins is in (64 bit) :

c:program files/...

so the plugin does not show in the 64 bit host.

.

tried to copy abl2_64.dll to my 64 vst folder but cubase crashes on exit/closing project.

.

can't figure how to install it well without crashes...

normally at setup, u choose the 32 bit folder, and u choose the 64 bit one.

need help for stable setup please.

btw, love it, pure 303 sound !!!


Forgive me if I have misunderstood, but have you set Cubase to scan "c:program files x86/...." under Devices - Plug-in Information - VST 2.x Plug-in Paths?


surely :

program files x86/...../.. for x86
program files/vstplugins/ for x64

...

BUT IT WORKS NOW like i said o n my previous post (sry for the syntax on it..).

i was just surprised by the install process, as the same dll works both 32 bit & 64 bit. (VST 2 or VST3 32 bits / 64 bits all-in-one dll)

i know this plug is a bit ancient, thats maybe why the coding was like this (not bad thoo..) but surprising only..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wibwub



Joined: 13 Jul 2009
Posts: 258

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm glad to see you've got it working .

I meant "c:program files x86/...." as well as "c:program files/...". Sorry for not explaining myself better.
Embarassed

There are definitely separate dlls for the 32 bit and 64 bit versions: ABL2_32.dll and ABL2_x64.dll.

However, by default Sonar X3 64 bit only shows the 64 bit version in the Plug-in Manager. Perhaps it's the same for Cubase.
_________________
Samsung Laptop, Intel i5 @ 2.50 GHZ, 8 GB RAM
Windows 7 64 bit
Cakewalk by Bandlab 64 bit
Sonar Platinum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr1smk2



Joined: 27 Jan 2015
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wibwub wrote:
I'm glad to see you've got it working .

I meant "c:program files x86/...." as well as "c:program files/...". Sorry for not explaining myself better.
Embarassed

There are definitely separate dlls for the 32 bit and 64 bit versions: ABL2_32.dll and ABL2_x64.dll.

However, by default Sonar X3 64 bit only shows the 64 bit version in the Plug-in Manager. Perhaps it's the same for Cubase.


.dll depends maybe OS X ? (no it works on AU !!)

hmm.. of course voilĂ  what ui done first :

"INSTALL BY DEFAULT CLICKED YES YES.. checked directory... okay so..." (maybe it installs all in the same dirt/)

so i took the _64.dll and put it in x64/vstplugins..

but i encountered this crash at exit cubase...

(i'm launching bitwig atm...) Smile

...

made further install test : install to program files x64 bits/

i was always using same _64 dll... resolved a crash when exitg project on cubase 7.5 x64.

thjen i saw on cub that the _32 dll was VST III.... so i cliked... tested (on x64 cubase). exited projec t and NO ISSUES...

->

WHAT I CAN UNDERSTAND is :

both DLL (_32 & _64) are used in a x64 bits environment.... but u must select the _32 one...

gonna make a test on bitwig fastly... will double post in few minutes to see what dlll i used and if that also crashed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr1smk2



Joined: 27 Jan 2015
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

on bitwig (that new DAW runs both 32 / 64 bits VST/i in different processes to avoid crash issue with the interface and then lost a project)... voilĂ :

_64 DLL used > got plugin crash.... i click relaunch it but it will crash the process for this plugin (bitwigly likely), not the daw.

testing _32 DLL ina 64 bit environment -> all runs finely !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr1smk2



Joined: 27 Jan 2015
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i tested the _64 DLL and the _32 DLL was in the same x64 folder. => crash.


->

u must plug' the _32.DLL......... (i mean even on a x64 bit DAW!)

(in this way, the _64.DLL is an "expansion to the main _32 DLL, the way i concept it and works.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    AudioRealism Forum Index -> Technical Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group