AudioRealism Forum Index AudioRealism

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Return old note editing panel to 64 bit version please!

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    AudioRealism Forum Index -> Feature Suggestions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DJMaytag



Joined: 27 Aug 2011
Posts: 144
Location: Madison, WI USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 5:11 pm    Post subject: Return old note editing panel to 64 bit version please! Reply with quote

Hi,

I made extensive use of the note editing panel in the "analyze pattern" window to make edits that aren't possible from the front panel (i.e. programming a slide from G2 to G6), to overview the whole pattern, and to quickly edit a 32 or 64 length pattern. Is it possible to add that functionality back to the 64 bit version?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DJMaytag



Joined: 27 Aug 2011
Posts: 144
Location: Madison, WI USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've since reverted back to the 32 bit version because of this and some sound/level differences between the two versions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiorealism
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 3879

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shouldn't be any level differences, the audio engine is basically the same. Check in Preferences that the VCA Leveling setting is the same.

And yeah, we had to remove part of the Analyze Pattern dialog because it was impossible to port to 64-bits as it was.. Working on making a fully functional Analyze Pattern dialog for the 64-bit versions as well (plus other things in the pipe line!).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DJMaytag



Joined: 27 Aug 2011
Posts: 144
Location: Madison, WI USA

PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2014 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's the difference I'm seeing. I've loaded up the same patter in each instance of ABL2 and ABL2x, and my frequency analyzer clearly shows a difference in volume and some slight waveform differences:











Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DJMaytag



Joined: 27 Aug 2011
Posts: 144
Location: Madison, WI USA

PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2014 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is exactly a 3db difference between the two, with ABL2 coming in less than ABL2x. This is with the instrument volumes turn up to the max setting on both instances (it seems as is the difference is greater with the volume knob set lower.) Here's the spectrums with the volumes close (with the mixer settings in Cubase):





At the "default" position (12 o'clock) the difference is MUCH greater: a full 14.2db! Images:



[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DJMaytag



Joined: 27 Aug 2011
Posts: 144
Location: Madison, WI USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any word on this for ABL3? I'm mainly interested in the ability to edit notes, not so much the audio importing feature found in the 32-bit version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiorealism
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 3879

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Yes ABL3 is still in the works. I can't say for sure if it will have a grid-style editing mode. I usually suggest that the user uses the hosts piano roll for grid-style editing.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DJMaytag



Joined: 27 Aug 2011
Posts: 144
Location: Madison, WI USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2014 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For now, I'm using Cubase in 32 bit mode. Being able to program in a note as high as C6 isn't possible otherwise, and using the internal sequencer is one major reason why I'm using ABL. Smile

I consider the grid programming to be your own little quirk to the 303 sound that ABL can uniquely pull off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DJMaytag



Joined: 27 Aug 2011
Posts: 144
Location: Madison, WI USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWIW, I don't think it's possible to program in the lead 303 sound I used in the following track without entering in values manually via the old panel:

https://soundcloud.com/djmaytag/ichaic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    AudioRealism Forum Index -> Feature Suggestions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group